Our Branch was formed on August 23 1944 and last year we celebrated our sixtieth anniversary.

Our meetings are held monthly on the first Thursday of each month September to May with a summer recess.

They are held at Cooil Roi, Glen Road Laxey. 2.30pm to 4pm.

We have sixteen members on the register and would welcome more.

The Officers holding office at present are:
President: Mrs Anne Bennett 29 Cooil Roi, Laxey.  Tel 861153
Chairman: Mrs Jill Ryan, Harcroft, Old Laxey Hill, Laxey. Tel 861520
Treasurer: Mrs. Avril Perkin, 52 Whitebridge Road, Onchan 1M3 4HN. Tel: 629535
Secretary: Mrs. K. Garratt 4 Gretch Noa, Laxey IM4 7PF
Standard Bearer: Mrs Avril Perkin Whitebridge Road Onchan.

Many of our members brave the bad weather in November and walk round Lonan and Laxey with their collection boxes collecting for the poppy appeal and we are especially proud of the fact we have been awarded the Albert Warrinder Shield for our efforts in the year 2003-2004, runners up in the Isle of Man Collection.

We were also holders of the Jubilee Cup in the year 2001-2002 and are the present holders of the cup, (an award for good attendance at meetings). Twice a year the Women’s Section join forces with the Men’s Branch, once in January/February time for the Annual Dinner and again in the summer for a coach outing.

The aim of the Women’s Section is to support ex- service men and their families. Anyone who wishes to join us does not have to have service connections. All are welcome.